Well, hi there! – important update!!!

**EDITED TO ADD** – the main event for our October charity has been moved up to October 4th, 2014.  Jim and I did not know that there was a previous event scheduled.  Again, mark your calendars for OCTOBER 4th, 2014.  Hope to see you there!

Cool kids

 Yea, it’s been a while.  I don’t really have a good excuse either.  Except to say I have been a real transition period.  Meds change, surgery, just….things.

Let’s see, where did we leave off?  Well, on April 11th, I had surgery to put in my permanent implants.  All was normal, it was painful, but I am healing pretty good.  My boobs are no longer an inch from my collarbone, so, that is a plus.  I don’t think you can tell their fake, and I really haven’t heard negative feedback from friends…so….yeah.  I think this paragraph would best be served with a photo.  I thought long and hard about posting pictures, we are talking topless photos here.  There were two people who stopped me, unbeknownst to them.  My father in law and my father.  I don’t think I could have ever looked those two in the face again, had I posted pictures.  If I know you, and ask to see them – shoot – I have flashed more ladies (in a discreet way), than I can ever really remember.  Pretty much all my friends have seen them.  They still honestly look really Frankenboobish, you know, scarred and not fully healed.  But they are getting better everyday.

Moving on – I have been on been on Tamoxifen for a couple of months now and it isn’t too bad.  The side effects I have been experiencing are a metallic taste in my mouth and bone pain.  It tastes like I have a mouthful of nickels, and I can’t stand a long time.  I would say that far outweighs where I would be if I had chosen to take chemo.  It’s not exactly unicorns farting rainbows and glitter, but I’ll take it.

I also had to change my medication for depression.  For many years, I was taking Zoloft and then down the line Seroquel was added to the mix.  Zoloft doesn’t play well with Tamoxifen, so it was changed to Celexa.  I started seeing a psychiatrist, and he took me off Seroquel and put me on Ambien.  To me – the change has been phenomenally good.  On the old combo – I was just there.  I never felt like there was a light at the end of the tunnel.  Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t thinking about offing myself, I was just meh.  Now that I am on Celexa, not everything looks so dark.  I think getting off the Seroquel helped tremendously as well.  Seroquel was originally prescribed to me at a VERY bad time in my life.  It was kind of back up to Zoloft, but it also helped you sleep.  What I didn’t notice was that it never really wore off.  I was dulled and exhausted most days.  Not taking Seroquel has really helped.  I take an Ambien at night, when I wake up in the morning, I feel like I am rested.  Again, don’t get me wrong, I don’t dance around like a hummingbird – but I don’t feel so foggy anymore.

As many of you may or may not know, Jim and I are involved with our local Fraternal Order of Eagles (#3468).  Each month, members decide what charity they will raise money for.  The last few months have been droll and so-so, there was a lot of tension, and a grave amount of backbiting and shenanigans.  Now, it is the start of a new year (well, in June), and Jim and I are planning a lot of exciting things for October – which is breast cancer awareness month.  We are in the early planning phases of ways to raise money for a specific breast cancer based community.  I haven’t talked to anyone within the organization yet, so, I do not want to name them.  For all of you that think you are smarty pants and guessed The Susan G. Komen foundation, you would be wrong.  They are a valuable fixture in the world of breast cancer, and I have no doubt that they will keep making strides to find a cure.  We think we are going to shoot for a smaller group that reaches out to individuals with love and support.  (For you doubting thomas’ out there – you’ll have the information so you can vet (and inexplicably tear down) whomever we choose, because that’s how you roll.)  Our vision is exciting, I will update here when I have any information.

The unfortunate side to hosting the month of October is that it pretty much means we have to tell Maegan.  I feel better about telling her now, because I am doing well.  She doesn’t need to be afraid.  It will still break my heart though.

That’s all for now…love and light – ya’ll

Leave a Reply

