Pathology is back…

Well, there is good news and bad news.  As I have explained before, all of my breast tissue was taken out.  Because there was a diagnosed cancer in the left boob, they also took the lymph nodes on the left.  The lymph nodes are located in the armpit region, so, that is where the incision is.  I know, good times right?!?!  Also, the cancer in the left breast was originally diagnosed as invasive ductal cell carcinoma.  After pathology, they have determined that it is actually ductal cell carcinoma in situ.  Which basically means that the cancer was less likely to spread.  Good news, right?

Anyhow, there was NO cancer detected in the lymph nodes on the left.  PHEW right?  Not so much, this is me we are talking about here.   In my right breast, there were two small cancer tumors found.  They were about 1.1 cm each, but, they are out, which is a good thing.  HOWEVER, because the doctors had no diagnosed cancer before my surgery, they did not take the lymph nodes on the right out.  Now, to me, you and everyone else on the planet, it makes sense just to take them, cancer or no cancer, RIGHT?  It is outside of surgical protocol to take out anything more than they have to.

The BAD news?  I have to have surgery again on Monday.  They call this a “simple, outpatient procedure”.  It will take the surgical team longer to prep me, and put me out than it will to actually remove the nodes.  My doctors and oncologists feel confident that the nodes on the right will be cancer free as well, as the nodes on the left were clean.

The surgery on the right nodes is necessary to help determine what, if any, treatment is needed.  My oncologist told me that if there is cancer present in the right lymph nodes, I will have to have chemotherapy.  I would appreciate your prayers that it WILL NOT be cancer.

Through this entire ordeal, I have been afraid of cancer, but I am TERRIFIED of the prospect of chemotherapy.  The toxic things that they put through you CAN KILL YOU….more than cancer can.  I have witnessed what it does, first hand.  It is so ugly and scary, it literally tears you down from the inside out.  So, please keep praying for me.

I know it doesn’t seem like it, but I am keeping my chin up.

Love and Light – Jen

3 thoughts on “Pathology is back…

  1. Hi Jen, my name is Julie Malcolm from Morris, IL. A mutual friend Sharon Peterson told me about your journey. I was diagnosed with Stage 3B Triple Negative breast cancer on 10-25-12. I know exactly what you are going through. I started my journey with 8 (16 weeks) rounds of chemo, double mastectomy and 32 rounds of radiation. I pray you do not have to go through Chemo, but if you do, please let me know if you have any questions.

    The most important thing to remember is you are STRONG and you can handle any challenge that cancer throws at you! God bless you as you continue on your journey!

Leave a Reply

