Apologies…and rant..

When I started this blog, I didn’t want it to become a pulpit from which I whine “I HAVE CAAANNNCCCEEERRR!”.  Which is why posting is light these last days.  So, if you missed me, sorry.  If not – meh to you.

On Friday, I received a letter from the gene mapping laboratory, and one from my insurance carrier, Cigna.  Both say the exact same thing – Cigna won’t pay unless the study is “medically necessary”.  Apparently, for someone to stick a Q-Tip in my spit, rub it on a slide and analyze it is a pretty expensive ordeal.

These letters were addressed to the oncologist, I was merely cc’d.  I decided I didn’t want to wait for another snail mail suggesting I do my leg work.  So, I called Cigna, and the woman asks me “What is the reason you had this genetic study done?” I tell her, “Well, I am 39 years old, and I have breast cancer.”  The line goes quite….I say “Hello?” and the lady sheepishly said “I just lost my best friend to breast cancer.”  I offer condolence, and she said “My god, I am so sorry, you never tell a person with cancer that someone else with cancer has died!”  I could only say – “moving on….”

It comes down to one of my doctors has to explain WHY it is necessary for me to have this study, since it is not a common test, and insurance is gun shy on paying.

Sigh….so the hurry up and wait ensues.

In other news, I have an appointment 12/9/13 to have diagnostic mammograms and ultrasound on the other “suspect spots” found on the MRI.  I am hoping for the best…but there is always that voice in the depth of my mind, already preparing for the worst.

Lastly, I realized a couple of days ago that I haven’t given the medical name for my Interloper.  The medical term is Invasive Ductal Cell Carcinoma.  There are 2 types of this breast cancer – Ductal Cell Carcinoma In Situ, and mine Invasive Ductal Cell Carcinoma.  Briefly, the difference between the two?  In Situ means that the cancer is less likely to spread.  Invasive means that it has a higher tendency to spread.  LUCKY ME!  I do not know which of the 4 types (Medullary, Mucinous, Papillary or Tubular) it is yet.

You can read more about it here.  (I trust John Hopkins info more than WebMD any day.)

Until next time….

Leave a Reply

