Well, there are AM facts, and PM facts

Before I start, want to give props to my surgeon, Dr. Hernandez.  When I met him last Wednesday, he said “let me give you my cell number”.  I was positive it was an answering service, so, this morning, I called it.  He answered, and calmly answered questions.  I was so shocked.  I SO appreciate the access.

Anyway….

This morning, this is what I knew – I have one small tumor, which has been the focus of everything that has been going on.  I had 3 doctors (surgeon, oncologist and radiation oncologist) all agreed that we would wait until after the results of the BRCA testing for surgery.  I was ok with this plan.  No reason to have 2 surgeries, RIGHT?!?!?!?

Then, this afternoon happened.  I got a call from Dr. Hernandez late in the day.  I expected this call because my MRI was to be read earlier today.  He called and changed the game again.  He told me that there is another “area of concern” in the left and TWO area of concerns on the right.

SERIOUSLY, W….T….F….

This morning, I was getting on board with treatment, I was ready for a lumpectomy and radiation or mastectomy and hysterectomy.

Now, I may need more biopsies (please god no), more MRI’s (ugh).  In other words, more waiting for REAL treatment to begin.

The wait is getting to me.  I have prepared myself to fight.  I am ready to go already.  I mean, is everyday a chance for this thing (or things) to grow?  I want to get it out, treat it and move on.

Lastly, for all of you, if you are 40 or approaching 40, or feel something suspect – go to your doctor.  Demand imaging, and don’t ever think it won’t happen to you.

One thought on “Well, there are AM facts, and PM facts

  1. I know today's news wasn't what you were expecting, but thank God that your doctors are on top of EVERYTHING and not leaving anything uncovered. It is all going to work out – you wait and see – you are a fighter!!! xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

