Today….

I saw my surgeon this morning.  Very nice, very direct, exactly what I wanted.  What happens from here is this – I have to have an MRI, to see the size of The Interloper (cancer’s new name).  Then I have to have a lumpectomy to make sure they can get clean margins, and to give it a stage.

From all appearances, it seems to be at an early stage, but there is no guarantee until they get it out. 

My surgeon then sent me to an oncologist.  She advised me that since there is no history of breast cancer in my family, that I should have the BRCA gene study.  You can read more about that here.  Should that test come back positive, it indicates a higher susceptibility for me to have MORE breast cancer and possibly ovarian cancer.  Naturally, a double mastectomy and a hysterectomy would be advised should the gene study come back positive.

I have been trying to figure out how I really feel about this….interloper.  Scared, for sure; anxious, definitely.  Mostly unsure.  I want to know now what is going to happen.  I would have surgery tomorrow, if it were up to me.  Jim is pulling the reigns trying to get me to slow down, as I should.  But I want it out.  There have been so many health stutter steps this year, I was looking forward to ending the year with peace and calm.

(To use a cancer cliché) – I am now looking forward to remission and counting on hope.

One thought on “Today….

  1. I know we do not talk "often" but you were my rock for many years and my love for you never left. I often read your posts and visit your page to get "close" to you as the computer will let me. I hope and pray that in one easy swoop they cut that Interloper out and you can end this blog, ASAP!!!

Leave a Reply

